Photos: Poor Pilgrim 4 Island Festival

Last Sunday, the Poor Pilgrim festival ran its fourth year edition. I went with my now former roommate and best pal Vanessa, and we had one hell of a time. It was one of the most gorgeous things I’ve ever been to in this city; following bands around one of my favourite places as they set up camp in different spots to play their lovely music. The best part was when we reached Snake’s Island and the sun started to set. Unfortunately, we missed the first few bands and the last one, but what we got to see from pier to pier was unforgettable. We saw Not the Wind Not the Flag, Snowblink, THOMAS, Ghost Bees/Tasseomancy, Daniel Romano and some of the Alex Lukashevsky Trio. After, we walked through the dark woods onto the even darker roads to the Ward’s Island Pier and took the slow ferry (which went all the way to the other side of the island first) back home, sitting under its roof just moments before the rain came down. The word to describe the evening was a common consensus: magical.

Here are some of my photos from the event:

[[PS. On August 7 & 8, the ALL CAPS Festival takes place on the Island. It will be a similar deal, but with art and lots more bands. Read more info on the Wavelength website.]]

Vanessa holds the map and schedule

Vanessa holds the map and schedule

Vanessa waiting for Not the Wind Not the Flag to arrive on the pier.

Vanessa waiting for Not the Wind Not the Flag to arrive on the pier.

Me, waiting for Not the Wind Not the Flag to arrive on the pier.

Me, waiting for Not the Wind Not the Flag to arrive on the pier.

Not the Wind Not the Flag play the Island Pier

Not the Wind Not the Flag play the Island Pier

Just chillin', listenin' to some experimental music

Just chillin', listenin' to some experimental music

The crowd on the Island Pier watching Not the Wind Not the Flag

The crowd on the Island Pier watching Not the Wind Not the Flag

We Arrive at St. Andrew-by-the-lake Church for Snowblink

We Arrive at St. Andrew-by-the-lake Church for Snowblink

Crappy picture of Snowblink, but still.

Crappy picture of Snowblink, but still. Their set was nice & relaxing but almost a bit too much, as we sat on the warm church pews. Not to worry, that's usually what happens. Although, they're the only band to make me come close to liking Bruce Springsteen when they covered a song.

On our way to Snakes Island. Felt like we were the only ones not on bikes, but I think we got to appreciate the view more.

On our way to Snakes Island. Felt like we were the only ones not on bikes, but I think we got to appreciate the view more.

Such an amazing place, and an amazing view. Favourite!

Such an amazing place, and an amazing view. Favourite!

People take in the gorgeous view of planes landing over the city while waiting for bands to set up. THOMAS played then on the other side, but I didn't get any good pictures of them.

People take in the gorgeous view of planes landing over the city while waiting for bands to set up. THOMAS played then on the other side, but I didn't get any good pictures of them.

Ghost Bees or Tasseomancy, whatever they're called.

Ghost Bees or Tasseomancy, whatever they're called. During their set, I imagined that I was a dark witch swimming slowly on my back towards the city, looking up at the stars. I know, I'm crazy.

Crappy picture of Daniel Romano, but still. What a pretty set he played. I imagined I was in the country the entire time, though.

Crappy picture of Daniel Romano, but still. What a pretty set he played. I imagined I was in the country the entire time, though.

3 thoughts on “Photos: Poor Pilgrim 4 Island Festival

      • In the first wide shot on the pier, near the left of the picture, I’m the one with a dark shirt, slumped over Weekend at Bernie’s-style.

        I was probably fiddling with my microphones, but now I look at that and keep wanting to shout “posture!” at myself.

Leave a Reply

